Larson Dominates to Win Second Straight Chili Bowl

Photo from Chili Bowl website

Kyle Larson led every lap in the 55 lap feature as he won he won the 35th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl, a race that didn’t begin until after midnight. Polesitter Justin Grant pulled out front of Larson on the initial start, but an accident caused the field to reform in double file. On the restart Larson pulled ahead and was never caught.

Justin Grant hung on for second after Christopher Bell, who had been Larson’s strongest challenger, crashed late in the race. Tanner Thorson finished third after starting 11th.

Daryn Pittman charged to fifth from his 20th spot on the grid.

Tanner Thorson and Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. won the two B-Main events, placing them behind the nightly feature winners and runners-up.


A Feature (55 Laps): 1. 01-Kyle Larson[2]; 2. 2J-Justin Grant[1]; 3. 08-Tanner Thorson[11]; 4. 71K-Cannon McIntosh[4]; 5. 21-Daryn Pittman[20]; 6. 89-Chris Windom[14]; 7. 17S-Ricky Stenhouse Jr[12]; 8. 1R-Brad Sweet[19]; 9. 1S-Spencer Bayston[15]; 10. 39-Logan Seavey[17]; 11. 39B-Cole Bodine[24]; 12. 25X-Alex Bright[7]; 13. 27W-Colby Copeland[23]; 14. 84X-Christopher Bell[3]; 15. 7C-Tyler Courtney[6]; 16. 97-Rico Abreu[5]; 17. 52-Blake Hahn[13]; 18. 3G-Kyle Cummins[10]; 19. 67-Michael Kofoid[8]; 20. 72-Chase Johnson[21]; 21. 7X-Thomas Meseraull[9]; 22. 21H-Brady Bacon[16]; 23. 3N-Jake Neuman[22]; 24. 49J-Joe B Miller[18]

Lap Leaders: Kyle Larson 1-55
Hard Charger: Daryn Pittman +15