Thoughts on Sebring: Broken Wing Victory in a Race of Bumper Cars

I have a dream that one day in an IMSA race the entire DPi class will fall out and the overall winner will be an LMP2 or GTLM car. Last night my dream nearly came true. The DPi cars seem to have a way of making things difficult for themselves, whether it’s squeezing each other into barriers, penalties for excessive drive time, pit mistakes, or on track collisions, the top class always entertains.

The result was unlikely winner, the number 5 Mustang sampling DPi Cadillac driven by Sebastien BGourdais, Loic Duval, and Tristan Vautier. Bourdais drove the anchor leg and led the final hour and 10 minutes. The car finished the race with a broken rear wing to edge out the Mazda of Harry Tincknell.

It was an improbable win for a team that had struggled to find speed all weekend, but the car and the race came to them, with an assist from the rest of the class.


Porsche swept the GT categories with victories in GTLM and GTD. The GTLm win by the 79 resembled the follies of DPi, with a late collision of the BMW and Corvette allowing Matheiu Jaminet to grab the lead from what appeared to be a third place finish.

The GTLM winner Pfaff Motorsports benefitted from the expertise of Laurens Vanthoor, who piloted the Canadian team to the win.

A good run by Simon Pagenaud in the 48 DPi topped a difficult day for the team. Jimmie Johnson spun and made contact with another car in the foirst hour of the race. The team climbed back into contention later in the day, Pagenaud stayed in the cat 50 seconds too long, disqualifying the car, which was third on the track at the end. I don’t understand why IMSA allows a car to keep running after it is known that car will be disqualified.

Katherine Legge had a great run in the 88 Hardpoint car. She was in line for a podium until a penalty for contact dropped her to 5th in class. The team, co-driven by Christina Neilsen and Bia Figuerado, still had a good run in just their second outing.

I understand IMSA’s desire to have as many cars in a race as possible, but when GTLM cars are faster than LMP3’s, it’s a bit concerning.

I hope but I doubt that NBC is over their Jimmie Johnson love fest. I admire him that after his success in NASCAR that he is trying a completely different motorsports discipline, but NBC’s coverage of him is overkill. The nice thing about Indycar is that he will be in the car the entire race and unavailable for interviews during the races.

The final results from the IMSA website:

1651Loic DuvalSebastien BourdaisTristan VautierMustang Sampling / JDC-Miller MotorSports Cadillac DPi34901:46.679Running
24552Oliver JarvisHarry TincknellJonathan BomaritoMazda Motorsports Mazda DPi34901:46.841Running
35603Olivier PlaJuanPablo MontoyaDane CameronMeyer Shank Racing w/Curb-Agajanian Acura DPi34901:46.641Running
42104Alexander RossiRicky TaylorFilipe AlbuquerqueKonica Minolta Acura ARX-05 Acura DPi34901:46.654Running
53015Rengervander ZandeKevin MagnussenScott DixonCadillac DPi34701:46.151Running
69521Scott HuffakerBen KeatingMikkel JensenPR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA LMP2 0734401:48.474Running
710182Ryan DalzielDwight MerrimanKyle TilleyEra Motorsport ORECA LMP2 0734401:48.944Running
824791Matt CampbellCooper MacNeilMathieu JaminetWeatherTech Racing Porsche 911 RSR – 1933401:55.732Running
922252ConnorDe PhillippiPhilipp EngBruno SpenglerBMW Team RLL BMW M8 GTE33301:55.727Running
1023243Augusto FarfusJohn EdwardsJesse KrohnBMW Team RLL BMW M8 GTE33301:55.861Running
112034Antonio GarciaJordan TaylorNicky CatsburgCorvette Racing Chevrolet Corvette C8.R33301:55.642Running
122145Tommy MilnerNick TandyAlexander SimsCorvette Racing Chevrolet Corvette C8.R33001:57.236Running
1316541Colin BraunJonathan BennettGeorge KurtzCore Autosport Ligier JS P32032901:56.166Running
1417912Dylan MurryJeroen BleekemolenJim CoxRiley Motorsports Ligier JS P32032901:56.281Running
1515743Scott AndrewsGar RobinsonSpencer PigotRiley Motorsports Ligier JS P32032901:56.183Running
161474Oliver AskewAustin McCuskerStevan McAleerForty7 Motorsports Duqueine D0832801:56.589Running
1718335Joao BarbosaYann ClairayLance WillseySean Creech Motorsport Ligier JS P32032801:56.340Running
183691Laurens VanthoorLars KernZacharie RobichonPfaff Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3R32002:00.835Running
1925162Patrick LongTrent HindmanJan HeylenWright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3R32002:00.808Running
2032233Ross GunnIan JamesRomanDe AngelisHeart of Racing Team Aston Martin Vantage GT332002:01.402Running
2135444Spencer PumpellyJohn PotterAndy LallyAcura NSX GT332002:01.923Running
2233885Katherine LeggeBia FigueiredoChristina NielsenPorsche 911 GT3R32002:01.484Running
2328126Zach VeachRobert MegennisFrankie MontecalvoVasserSullivan Lexus RC F GT331902:01.450Running
2427147Jack HawksworthKyle KirkwoodAaron TelitzVasserSullivan Lexus RC F GT331302:01.000Running
2529968Bill AuberlenRobby FoleyAidan ReadTurner Motorsport BMW M6 GT331302:01.298Running
2631759Maro EngelMikael GrenierKenny HabulSunEnergy1 Racing Mercedes-AMG GT330402:01.125Running
271316Felipe NasrMike ConwayPipo DeraniWhelen Engineering Racing Cadillac DPi29201:46.151Running
287487Kamui KobayashiSimon PagenaudJimmie JohnsonCadillac DPi34901:46.424Running
29349910Earl BamberTrenton EstepRob FerriolPorsche 911 GT3R28002:01.325Running
301283Gabriel AubryTim BuretJohn FaranoORECA LMP2 0726601:49.084Running
31196Matthew BellRodrigo SalesNiklas KruettenWIN Autosport Duqueine D0826501:57.106Running
3230111Bryan SellersMadison SnowCorey LewisPaul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT325502:01.353Running
3313387Rasmus LindhDan GoldburgMateo LLarenaPerformance Tech Motorsports Ligier JS P32017701:56.981Running
34262812Michaelde QuesadaBilly JohnsonDaniel MoradAlegra Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT39102:01.960Running
35371913Tim ZimmermannStephen SimpsonFranck PereraGRT Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracan GT39102:01.501Running
368114Thomas MerrillSteven ThomasTristan NunezWIN Autosport ORECA LMP2 079001:49.619Running
3711225Guy SmithJames McGuireWayne BoydORECA LMP2 0733301:48.673Running