The 2023 Indycar Grid-27 Cars Makes Every Point More Valuable

Indycar’s 27 car grid, 28 on ovals, is the largest field in12 years. The competition should be as close as it was in 2022, but the two to three extra cars mean points are at more of premium. Finishing positions from 25th or worse are worth only 5 points each, and in 2023 there will be more chances for a driver to earn the fewest possible points each race. Traffic at some of the shorter road courses and the street courses will be a constant issue for the leaders. I like that possibility.

The field has only three rookies- Benjamin Pedersen, Agustin Canapino, and Marcus Armstrong. Armstrong will have a difficult time winning Rookie of the Year since he is only running 12 races. I think Pedersen has the best shot at rookie honors.

There are five former series champions in the field- Will Power, Josef Newgarden, Scott Dixon, Simon Pagenaud, and Alex Palou. Palou is the only under the age of 30. the champions represent 11 titlesw, with Dixon holding six of them.

Seven Indianapolis 500 winners are in the 2023 grid. Takuma sato is running an oval only schedule, but the others- Scott Dixon, Helio Castroneves, Marcus Ericsson, Simon Pagenaud, Will Power, and Alexander Rossi. The group represents 11 500 victories. Only Castroneves with four and Sato with two have won multiple 500s.

For the first time since 2014, Andretti Autosport will not have a former 500 winner in their lineup.

The Grid

Team Penske (Chevrolet)

Will Power

Josef Newgarden

Scott McLaughlin

Arrow McLaren (Chevrolet)

Pato O’Ward

Felix Rosenqvist

Alexander Rossi

Ed Carpenter Racing (Chevrolet)

Rinus VeeKay

Conor Daly

Ed Carpenter- ovals only

A. J. Foyt Racing (Chevrolet)

Benjamin Pedersen (Rookie)

Santino Ferrucci

Juncos Hollinger Racing (Chevrolet)

Callum Ilott

Agustin Canapino (Rookie)

Andretti Autosport (Honda)

Colton Herta

Romain Grosjean

Devlin DeFrancesco

Kyle Kirkwood

Chip Ganassi Racing (Honda)

Scott Dixon

Alex Palou

Marcus Ericsson’

Marcus Armstrong (Rookie) (road/ street courses); Takuma Sato (ovals)

Meyer Shank Racing (Honda)

Helio Castroneves

Simon Pagenaud

Dale Coyne Racing (Honda)

David Malukas

Sting Ray Robb (Rookie)

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (Honda)

Graham Rahal

Christian Lundgaard

Jack Harvey