Quick Thoughts- Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach

The  streak of clean starts came to a quick w\end at the fountain.  Not surprising, but the bigger surprise was that was the only yellow of the day.

Indycar needs to do a better job of getting the cars lined up before the start, Only three or four rows were lined up.

What a dominant drive by Alexander Rossi. This is the Rossi I expected to see at St. Pete. I think his season actually started today.

I wonder if NBC could pout a camera outside the track opposite the fountain. I’m think there could be some great shots from there.

The NBC scoring pylon is okay, but it is very disconcerting when they change sponsors and wipe out the data for a few seconds. You like the Firestone standings?  Get a load of the NTT board. Just switch the name at the top.

Will Power will be happy to get to Indianapolis Motor Speedway.  He has had issues three weeks in a row. He is fortunate to be sixth in the standings.

Sebastien Bourdais did a nice job coming back from the right rear tire problem on his first stop.

Scott Dixon had some great battles on track.  Loved watching him challenge Rossi and Power,  then stalk Ruan Hunter-Reay and Graham Rahal in the final laps.

Another awful day for Colton Herta. His botched pit stop was followed by race ending contact.   He now has two consecutive last place finishes but still leads the rookies in points.

Rahal definitely blocked Dixon and cost himself a podium. The good news for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing is the team has three top ten finishes the last two weeks, giving them a lot of momentum heading to Indianapolis.  The team has found something. watch out for both drivers the rest of the year.

Takuma Sato has lead two straight races and now has 5 bonus points.

Look for a full race report on Wildfire Sports tomorrow.

The Pit Window moves to summer headquarters later this coming week, so I may only be here if some big news breaks.

Quick Thoughts- Long Beach Qualifying

Photo by Kyle McInnes

I really like Indycar Live before qualifying. Krista Voda and A. J. Almendinger did a great job on the set and also in the time between rounds on NBC Gold.  I hope we see this more before qualifying.  In fact a midweek Indycar show might be nice.

I would be happy to not hear the term “Go Fast Day” ever again. I really don’t want to hear it on Pole Day at IMS.

That was a great qualifying session. Every round had some intrigue.

Felix Rosenqvist is having an awfull difficult time at Long Beach. If he doesn’t cause a caution tomorrow, I’ll be surprised.

Once again, Hinchcliffe and Bourdais get bitten by the red bug.

Is this the beginning of Pagenaud’s resurgence?

Is this the real beginning of Rossi’s season?

Honda cars seem a lot faster than the Chevys on black tires.

Graham rahal now has been in The Fast Six two races in a row and Sato just missed.  The RLL team has found something. I hope it continues.

Look for a complete qualifying report on Wildfire Sports tomorrow.

Rossi Leads Practice 3; Edges Rahal on Last Lap

Defending Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach champion Alexander Rossi nipped Graham Rahal for the fastest time in the final practice session before qualifying by 0.13 seconds. Rahal had jumped to the top of the chart with just a few minutes to go. Team Penske drivers showed more speed today with Simon Pagenaud fifth, Josef Newgarden sixth, and Will Power tenth.

The time sheet:


Jarrett Andretti Added to Freedom 100 Field

Jarrett Andretti will become the latest member of one of racing’s most famous families to race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The son of John Andretti will drive an Andretti Autosport Indy Lights car in the Freedom 100 on  Carb Day,  May 24.

Andretti, 26, has won championships in karts, USAC midgets. an Indiana Sprint Car series.  He joins Andretti Indy Lights drivers Oliver Askew, Robert Megnnis, and Ryan Norman in the Andretti Indy Lights Field. Jarrett currently competes for Andretti Autosport in the Pirelli GT4 America program. He has also competed in the Pirelli World Challenge TCR class.

It is always great to have another Indy Lights car in the field, and adding another Andretti is big for the series. No plans for additional Indy Lights races were mentioned at this time, but Michael mentioned this could be first step to more participation in the series. It seems like a logical presumption  for someone with his last name.

Hunter-Reay leads Practice 1 Honda Parade

Hondas had the top seven times in this morning’s first practice, led by Ryan Hunter-Reay.