BC39 Returns Tonight; 74 Entries

IMS Photo

Indianapolis Motor Speedway continues a busy week of racing tonight with the two day BC39 USAC midget race. The event returns after a oe year absence due to COVID-19. 74 entries will try to make tomorrow night’s feature race.

Conor Daly is the lone Indycar representative, while NASCAR drivers Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott, and Ryan Newman will also attempt to make the feature.

Today’s Schedule:

4:00PM -10:00PM Gates Open

5:00PM Hot Lap Sessions (12 Groups)

7:15PM Heat Races (12 Races) 10 laps each

8:00PM Stoops Pursuit 25 laps run in 5 lap segments; cars that have lost positions in each segment exit the track.

24 cars- the heat winners plus the car gaining the most passing points in their heat- make up the field for the Stoops Pursuit.

In 2019 the Stoops pursuit ended with the three cars remaining in the last segment all flipping on the last lap. Kyle Larson was declared the winner.

Indycar Notes

Indycar will have a press conference tomorrow at 11 am with Bobby Rahal, Roger Penske, and Randy Edeker, CEO of HyVee. The rumor is that Iowa Speedway will return to the Indycar schedule in 2022. I truly missed Iowa this year. It is a great track for Indycar, which is sorely lacking oval races.