Kanaan Fastest as Speeds Dip; Ferrucci Crashes

Veterans continue to set the pace in practice for the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500. Today was 2013 race winner Tony Kanaan’s turn. Conor Daly led throughout much of the afternoon before Kanaan ran the fast lap of the day. Santino Ferrucci had the third quickest speed before crash in in turn 2 with a little less than two hours left in the six hour session.

Kanaan is running an ovals only program for Chip Ganassi Racing. Jimmie Johnson drives the number 48 car on the road and street courses. The 500 is Kanaan’s third race of the year. He will have one more race, at gateway, in August.

In addition to Ferrucci’s crash, there was a minor incident between Scott McLaughlin and Colton Herta, Herta came out of turn four as cars ahead of him slowed. The Rahal Letterman Lanigan team cars had slowed near the finish line for a team photo op. My understanding is that Rahal did not inform Indycar of their plans, and the other teams were caught by surprise. Herta mad slight contact with the wall and McLaughlin’s car. both cars spent some time in the garage for repairs.

Santino Ferrucci about an hour before his crash.

From earlier


Rahal’s team received a penalty for their actions and the three cars will have to sit out the first 30 minutes of tomorrow’s practice.

Ferrucci was sent IU Methodist for additional imaging on his left leg. Dr. Billows, the chief medical officer of IMS, said Ferrucci was able to put weight on foot. I have just learned that Ferrucci has been released from the hospital but has not been cleared to drive as of yet.

Today’s results:

148Tony KanaanChip Ganassi RacingHonda225.34180
247Conor DalyEd Carpenter RacingChevy225.24590
345Santino FerrucciRahal Letterman Lnigan RacingHonda224.92250
42Josef NewgardenTeam PenskeChevy224.885121
59Scott DixonChip Ganassi RacingHonda224.66665
621Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter RacingChevy224.40996
76Helio CastronevesMeyer Shank RacingHonda224.393114
88Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi RacingHonda224.27389
930Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda224.23293
1026Colton HertaAndretti AutosportHonda223.944104
1110Alex PalouChip Ganassi RacingHonda223.679125
1228Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportHonda223.54881
133Scott McLaughlinTeam PenskeChevy223.49160
145Pato O’WardArrow McLaren SPChevy223.33364
1512Will PowerTeam PenskeChevy223.23082
167Felix RosenqvistArrow McLaren SPChevy223.19985
1760Jack HarveyMeyer Shank RacingHonda223.11691
1898Marco AndrettiAndretti Herta-Haupert w/Marco & Curb-AgajanianHonda222.623123
1918Ed JonesDale Coyne Racing with Vasser SullivanHonda222.60463
2020Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter RacingChevy222.44196
2127Alexander RossiAndretti AutosportHonda222.41294
2286Juan Pablo MontoyaArrow McLaren SPChevy222.38473
2322Simon PagenaudTeam PenskeChevy222.36442
244Dalton KellettAJ Foyt EnterprisesChevy221.92671
2525Stefan WilsonAndretti AutosportH221.804102
2615Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda221.74870
2751Pietro FittipaldiDale Coyne Racing w/Rick Ware RacingHonda221.60271
2824Sage KaramDreyer & Reinbold RacingChevy221.41186
2911Charlie KimballAJ Foyt EnterprisesChevy221.25157
301JR HildebrandAJ Foyt EnterprisesChevy221.17362
3116Simona De SilvestroParetta AutosportChevy220.91181
3229James HinchcliffeAndretti Steinbrenner AutosportHonda220.82297
3359Max ChiltonCarlinChevy220.48961
3414Sebastien BourdaisAJ Foyt EnterprisesChevy219.87681
3575RC EnersonTop Gun RacingChevy217.44450

Sloide bar to right for speeds

Tomorrow the cars receive a an 85-90 horsepower addition for qualifying, which should push the top speeds to 230 mph.

Cashless Concessions

All merchandise shops and food concessions at IMS are cashless in 2021. For someone who does not have credit cards, items can still be purchased.

This machine will convert your cash to a debit card to be used at the track. I’m not sure I the card is honored outside of IMS.

After you’ve maxed out your credit cards at the gift shop, this should be your next stop.